Triman Logo e-commerce ecosistant

Besides the Green Dot and the “crossed-out garbage can”, the Triman Logo is probably the most important recycling symbol in e-commerce. At least for online shops which ship to France. However, many sellers still don’t seem to know about it. What is important and how to use the Triman Logo? We’ll explain.

Skip and go straight to Triman Update 2022

The French Decree No. 2014-1577 has made it mandatory from 1 January 2015 to print the Triman Logo on recyclable products and packaging sold to consumers in France. The main reason for this symbol is to make it easier for consumers to understand how to sort their garbage. Products and packaging with the Triman Logo on them are meant to be collected in separate waste streams, such as paper or recyclable plastics. If the symbol is not there, the product can be disposed of in the general waste. However, it is not quite as simple as it sounds.

What must be marked with the Triman Logo?

The general logic since 2015 goes as follows:

Triman Logo Inphographics how to use Triman by ecosistant
Infographics: How to use the Triman Logo.

Important: There are some major changes for the Triman Logo soon. The obligation to mark products with the symbol are now implemented in the French environment law (Code de l’environnement Art. L541-9-3) and will enter into force as from 1 January 2022. From that date onwards, electronic goods or their packaging will also have to be marked with the symbol, along with the crossed-out-garbage-bin.

New Triman Regulations 2021: electronic products and packaging recycling symbol France
New Triman Logo regulations from January 2022.

All in all, one can say that the Triman Logo is mandatory on all (household-) packaging, textiles and shoes, furniture, tires, and paper products. At least, when they are recyclable and meant to end up in household-waste. From 1 January 2022, the Triman regulations also apply to electronic goods, batteries and similar.

What if I cannot print the Triman Logo on my products or packaging?

In many cases it is not quite as easy to have the symbol on products or packaging, especially for online shops form abroad. For instance, if the seller itself is not the manufacturer and has no influence on the product’s marking. Or because the same packaging is used internationally.

Until January 2022:

For such cases, the French Decree No. 2014-1577 stipulates that the Triman Logo can be displayed on the website instead. It can either be directly on the product page, or on a separate subpage that informs customers about the recyclability of packaging and products. Besides the Triman recycling symbol, this page should state clearly which products and packaging are recyclable. Any information about the material and how to dispose of it is helpful. Since this legal obligation is specifically for the French market, the text should be in French as well. Even on an English website, having the information in English-only would not be sufficient for compliance.

If all your products and packaging are recyclable, you could use the following text for your webshop:

Triman Logo Onlinehandel Hinweis Frankreich

Since sustainable shopping is a high priority for many customers in e-commerce today, it is generally a good idea to have a subpage that informs about recycling and why your products are sustainable.

From January 2022 the Triman Logo must be directly on product or packaging

A display on the website or product page is no longer sufficient – you need to display the symbol (including recycling information) directly on your products or packaging. However, printing the logo on manuals or documents that come with your products is also possible.

In order to always stay up-to-date with European packaging regulations – also with regard to the planned changes of the EU packaging waste directive in 2021 – we recommend using our compliance-service.

Triman Logo vector image for download

You can find a Triman Logo vector file (.svg format) for download here: Triman Logo Vector Download
(Right-click –> “Save as…” –> “Scalable Vector Graphics”)

This way you can use the symbol on packaging, product labels, and on your website. More detailed manuals as well as different image formats (JPG, Adobe Illustrator, etc.) are available to our customers. Simply select your manual for France in the member Dashboard and you will find the download link there.

How to apply the Triman logo on packaging from 2022 onward?

In September 2021, the French packaging waste take-back schemes have published new guidelines on how the Triman Logo needs to be printed on packaging in France from January 2022. This is to ensure that a common format is used for the symbol and sorting advice. A transition period is in place until 9 March 2023. Afterwards, packaging that is not compliant with the new Triman signage rules may no longer be placed on the Frencht market.

Triman transition period
Triman Logo transition period until 2023

Triman Logo plus sorting advice

The new format requires a sorting advice, which can be in text (French!) or symbols, or both. If the products are not exclusively for the French market, the country code “FR” should also be applied. This is to avoid confusion for customers in other (French-speaking) countries, where different sorting rules may apply.

Composition of the Triman Logo from 2022, (c) CITEO

Generally, all packaging that is not from glass should be disposed of in the “yellow bin” in France. Glass packaging, on the other hand, goes into the green glass container. This makes sorting, as well as labelling very straight-forward.

If packaging consists of multiple parts, the elements and their respective way of sorting should be displayed separately. For instance:

Triman Logo ab 2022

The Triman Logo may never be smaller than 6mm. It must be printed in black and white, whereas the sorting advice can be either in color or in black and white. Glass bottles for beverages do not require the Triman signage at all, although it may be used optionally.

Our customers get the detailed Triman Guidelines from the French take-back schemes as part of their ecosistant manual for France.

What are possible penalties for non-compliance?

The Decree No.. 2014-1577 itself does not state any penalties for not using the Triman Logo. However, according to the applicable environment law in France (Art. L171-8 & L173-1) a warning can be issued by the responsible authorities. Thereafter, continuous non-compliance can result in financial penalties of up to 100,000 € or up to 2 years in prison. We recommend to not even take the risk and get compliant now. Customers of our compliance service for France will have access to a detailed manual, and for premium customers we offer direct consultation for fulfilment of all compliance obligations.

Pro-tip: You can also use the Triman pictogram internationally. This way, you will not have to use specific packaging or product labels just for France, but can use the same ones globally. Usage of the Triman Logo is license-free in France. And since the symbol has no official use outside of France, usage is also license-free in all other countries.

What else must I be aware of when shipping to France?

Besides using the Triman Logo, online retailers must license their packaging in France and pay an annual recycling fee. The main principal is more or less the same as in Germany or most other European countries, but local requirements can differ quite a lot. We can also offer easy step-by-step guides for up to 30 countries, tailored for your business. This way, you will not lose time and can be 100% sure to fulfil your Europe-wide compliance; in France and all other countries you ship to. Feel free to contact us or purchase our services directly.

Triman Logo e-commerce ecosistant

Das Triman Logo ist neben dem Grünen Punkt und der durchgestrichenen Mülltonne wohl das wichtigste Recycling-Symbol im Online Handel. Jedenfalls für Onlineshops, die Versand nach Frankreich anbieten. Dennoch haben es viele Online Händler noch nicht auf dem Schirm. Was ist bei der Nutzung des Triman Logos zu beachten? Wir erklären es.

Jetzt direkt zum Triman Update ab 2022

Mit dem Dekret Nr. 2014-1577 wurde es seit dem 1. Januar 2015 in Frankreich Pflicht, das Triman Logo auf recyclebaren Produkten und auf Verpackungen anzubringen, die üblicherweise im Haushaltsmüll landen. Der Grund dafür ist, dass französische Kunden leichter erkennen sollen, wie sie Produkte zu entsorgen haben. Produkte mit dem Symbol gehören demnach in die Wertstoff- oder Altpapiertonne. Ist kein Triman Logo abgebildet, gehört es in den Restmüll. Ganz so einfach ist es mit Recycling-Symbolen in der Praxis dann aber meist doch nicht.

Was ist Kennzeichnungspflichtig?

Im Allgemeinen folgte die Entscheidung, ob das Triman Logo auf einem Produkt oder einer Verpackung abzubilden ist, bislang folgender Logik:

Triman Logo Pflichten für Online Händler in Frankreich Infografik ecosistant
Infografik: Das Triman Logo korrekt verwenden.

Wichtig: Bald gelten neue Regelungen zum Triman Logo. Die Kennzeichnungspflichten sind nun im französischen Umweltgesetzbuch (Code de l’environnement Art. L541-9-3) verankert und treten zum 1. Januar 2022 in Kraft. Ab dann sind auch Elektrogeräte bzw. deren Verpackungen kennzeichnungspflichtig. Das Symbol der durchgestrichenen Mülltonne muss außerdem weiterhin verwendet werden.

Neue Triman Regelungen ab 2021: Auch für Elektrogeräte
Neue Logik für das Triman-Logo ab Januar 2022.

Zusammenfassend lässt sich also sagen, dass die Triman Pflicht insbesondere für alle (Haushalts-) Verpackungen, Textilien und Schuhe, Möbel, Reifen und Papiererzeugnisse gilt. Jedenfalls sofern diese recyclingfähig sind. Ab Januar 2022 sind zudem Elektrogeräte, Batterien und dergleichen betroffen.

Was, wenn ich das Triman Logo nicht anbringen kann?

In vielen Fällen ist es für nicht-französische Onlineshops gar nicht so einfach, das Symbol auf Produkt oder Verpackung anzubringen. Zum Beispiel, weil der Händler nicht selbst Hersteller ist und somit keinen Einfluss darauf hat. Oder weil international dieselben Verpackungen verwendet werden.

Bis Januar 2022 gilt:

Das französische Dekret Nr. 2014-1577 sieht deshalb vor, dass auch die Abbildung auf der Produktseite im Online Shop zulässig ist. Alternativ kann sogar eine spezielle Unterseite dafür erstellt werden. Diese Seite sollte neben dem Triman Logo auch den Hinweis enthalten, welche Produkte und Verpackungen recyclebar sind. Da das Gesetz in Frankreich gilt, sollte dieser Hinweis (neben Deutsch oder Englisch) auf jeden Fall auch auf Französisch erfolgen. Sollten all Ihre Produkte und Verpackungen recyclingfähig sein, könnte der Hinweis z. B. folgendermaßen lauten:

Triman Logo Onlinehandel Hinweis Frankreich

Da es generell sinnvoll ist, Kunden über Maßnahmen zu Nachhaltigkeit und Recycling zu informieren, wäre eine solche Unterseite ein guter Platz dafür.

Ab 2022 muss das Triman Logo direkt auf Produkt oder Verpackung angebracht werden.

Ein Hinweis auf der Website oder Produktseite des Online Shops reicht nicht mehr aus. Das Symbol muss nun samt Trennhinweis zwingend direkt auf dem Produkt oder auf der Verpackung angebracht werden. Allerdings ist auch die Anbringung auf zusammen mit dem Produkt gelieferten Anleitungen oder Dokumenten legitim.

Um trotz der vielen Neuerungen – auch im Hinblick auf geplante Reformen der EU-Verpackungsrichtlinie 2021 – stets europaweit up-to-date zu sein, empfehlen wir allen Online Händlern mit Auslandsversand unseren digitalen Compliance-Service im Europa-Paket.

Triman Logo Vector Grafik zum Download

Sie können sich hier das Triman Logo als Vector-Datei im SVG-Format herunterladen: Download Triman Logo Vector
(Rechts-Klick –> „Link speichern unter…“ –> SVG)

So können Sie das Symbol auf Verpckungen und Produkt-Labels anbringen bzw. auf Ihrer Website platzieren. Weitere detaillierte Anleitungen inklusive diverser Datei-Formate (Adobe Illustrator, usw.) stehen für unsere Kunden zur Verfügung. Wählen Sie dazu einfach die Anleitung für Frankreich im Dashboard aus.

Wie muss das Triman Logo ab 2022 auf Verpackungen angebracht werden?

Im September 2021 haben die französischen Rücknahmesysteme neue Richtlinien zur Anbringung des Triman Logo ab Januar 2022 veröffentlicht. So wird sichergestellt, dass das Symbol samt Trennhinweis einheitlich auf Verpackungen dargestellt wird. Eine Übergangsfrist, in der auch das bisherige System noch verwendet werden darf, gilt bis zum 9. März 2023. Danach darf nur noch die neue Verpackungskennzeichnung in Frankreich verwendet werden.

Triman Übergangsfrist
Übergangsfristen beim Triman Logo bis 2023

Triman Logo plus Trennhinweis

Das neue Format sieht einen Trennhinweis vor, der wahlweise Text (auf Französisch) oder aus Symbolen bestehen kann. Wenn die Verpackungen nicht ausschließlich in Frankreich vermarktet werden, sollten Sie idealerweise das Länderkürzel „FR“ mit angeben. So soll Verwirrung bei Verbrauchern in anderen (französischsprachigen) Ländern vermieden werden, wo ggf. andere Sortierregeln gelten.

Zusammensetzung des Triman Logo ab 2022, (c) CITEO

Prinzipiell sollen in Frankreich alle Verpackungen, die nicht aus Glas bestehen, in der „Gelben Tonne“ entsorgt werden. Alle Verpackungen aus Glas sind im grünen Glas Container zu entsorgen. Das macht die Trennung und damit auch die Kennzeichnung relativ einfach.

Wenn Verpackungen aus mehreren Bestandteilen bestehen, sollten diese jeweils getrennt aufgeführt und die korrekte Entsorgung aufgezeigt werden. Zum Beispiel:

Triman Logo ab 2022

Das Triman Logo darf dabei auf keinen Fall kleiner als 6mm sein. Es muss in schwarz-weiß abgedruckt werden, wohingegen der Trennhinweis wahlweise farbig oder schwarz-weiß sein darf. Auf Glasflaschen für Getränke darf komplett auf die Kennzeichnung verzichtet werden.

Einen detaillierten Triman Guide der französischen Rücknahmesysteme stellen wir unseren Kunden in ihrer Frankreich-Anleitung bereit.

Welche Strafen erwarten mich bei Missachten der Triman Pflicht?

Das Dekret Nr. 2014-1577 selbst sieht zunächst keine Strafen für Händler vor, die das Triman Logo nicht verwenden. Nach den in Frankreich geltenden Umweltgesetzen (Art. L171-8 i.V.m. L173-1) können Händler bei einem solche Verstoß jedoch von den zuständigen Behörden abgemahnt werden. Bei weiterer Nichteinhaltung der Pflichten drohen dann Bußgelder von bis zu 100.000 € oder bis zu 2 Jahre Haft. Online Händler sollten daher besser schon jetzt tätig werden und die Verpflichtungen umsetzen. Kunden, die unseren Compliance Service für Frankreich buchen, stellen wir eine ausführlichere Anleitung zur Verfügung oder beraten im Premium-Service auch persönlich zur Umsetzung.

Übrigens können Sie das Logo auch international verwenden . So müssen Sie für Frankreich keine speziellen Verpackungen oder Produktlabels anfertigen. Für die Verwendung des Logos selbst wird in Frankreich keine Lizenz benötigt. Da es das Logo außerhalb Frankreichs offiziell nicht gibt, ist die Verwendung auch international lizenzfrei verfügbar.

Was muss ich in Frankreich sonst noch beachten?

Neben dem Triman Logo sind Online Händler bei Versand nach Frankreich verpflichtet, ihre Verpackungen bei einem französischen Recycling-System zu lizenzieren. Das Prinzip ist dabei im großen und ganzen dasselbe wie beim Verpackungsgesetz in Deutschland. Auch in den meisten anderen europäischen Ländern besteht diese Pflicht. Da die Umsetzung sich zum Teil sehr stark unterscheidet, bieten wir einfach verständliche und speziell für Ihren Online Shop zugeschnittene Anleitungen für bis zu 30 Länder. Kontaktieren Sie uns einfach, oder buchen Sie direkt unsere Services.

Jetzt 20% Sparen!

Ihr exklusiver Neukunden-Rabatt!

Melden Sie sich hier für unseren Newsletter an und Sie erhalten einen 20% Gutschein für unseren Basis- & Unlimited Service! Dieses Angebot ist zeitlich begrenzt und gilt nur im August 2020.

Mit unserem Newsletter erhalten Sie spannende Tipps und Infos für den Online Handel. Seien Sie immer up-to-date bei allen Themen rund um E-Commerce Compliance & Nachhaltigkeit.

Verpackungslizenzierung Newsletter ecosistant | Verpackungsgesetz Europa | EU packaging law